Skip to main content


(Approved By Muir Faculty 11/19/1968)
(Approved By The San Diego Division 2/25/1969)
(Amended By Muir Faculty 6/12/1988)
(Amended By Muir Faculty 3/13/2004)
(Amended By Muir Faculty 4/21/2009

  1. Membership

    The Faculty of John Muir College shall consist of all members of the San Diego Division of the Academic Senate who are affiliated with John Muir College.

    The Associated Faculty of John Muir College shall consist of Acting Assistant Professors and Lecturers affiliated with the College. The Associated Faculty may attend all meetings of the Faculty and participate in all discussions, but it shall not vote on matters covered by Ruling 12.75 of the Manual of the Academic Senate.

  2. Function

    Under the rules of the Academic Senate and The San Diego Division, the faculty is responsible for the academic program and concerned with all aspects of the college that bear directly on that program.

  3. Faculty Meetings

    At least one faculty meeting per academic year shall be called by the Chair of the Faculty. Meetings can also be called by the Executive Committee and at the written request of ten members of the faculty. [See regulation 600(F)] [Am4/1/75]

  4. Quorum

    The presence of 20% of the membership of the faculty in residence shall constitute a quorum.

  5. Officers and Committees
    1. A member of the Faculty of Muir College shall be elected by the Faculty to serve as Chair of the Faculty for a two-year term, effective from September 1st. The Chair of the Faculty shall preside at all meetings of the Faculty and of the Executive Committee.
    2. The Executive Committee shall consist of five elected members of the faculty in addition to the Chair of the Faculty and the Provost ex officio. The elected members shall normally serve for a period of two years. No more than two members of the committee, apart from the Provost, may be members of the same department. This committee shall have the power to recommend ad hoc committees, as needed, to implement the functions set forth in Paragraph II.
    3. Nominations for Chair of the Faculty and members of the Executive Committee shall take place at the last annual meeting of the faculty and shall be submitted for election by a mail ballot. Elections to the Executive Committee shall be conducted in such manner that at least one member remain in office for another year. If an elected member of the Executive Committee, who has served for less than two years, is elected as Chair of the Faculty, another member of the Faculty shall be elected to the Executive Committee for a new two-year term.
  6. Rules of Order

    Robert's Rules of Order shall govern the transaction of business, except for modification of these Bylaws or the Academic Plan of Muir College. At the request of five of the voting members present at a faculty meeting, the question before the meeting shall be submitted to a mail ballot of the faculty.

  7. Academic Plan

    Changes in the Muir College Academic Plan shall be approved for submission to the San Diego Division's Committee on Educational Policy by a majority of the faculty in residence and voting, provided that the faculty has been notified of the meeting and the proposed change at least five days prior to the meeting at which it will be discussed. Voting on changes to the Academic Plan may take place by mail or electronic ballot as deemed appropriate by the Executive Committee.

  8. Amendment of Bylaws

    The procedure for amendment of these Bylaws shall be the same as for changes in the Academic Plan, except that a two-thirds majority is required. Voting on changes to the Bylaws may take place by mail or electronic ballot as deemed appropriate by the Executive Committee.

Complete Senate By-Laws can be found at the link here.